5 lovely towns straight out of a fairytale

London, Paris, Rome, Berlin...are without doubt absolutely breathtaking. However, there are a lot small towns in Europe that have their own charm. With less tourists you can enjoy the atmosphere of small villages and truly blend in with the locals. Check out my list of them below ;)

sintra, portugal

A lot of people describe Portugal as heaven on Earth and I don't think they're wrong. I've never been here, but it's definitely on my bucket list. This palace looks stunning and the whole city seems friendly and charming. To sum it up: don't miss this lovely town on your trip to Portugal

Strassbourg, france

This small, but lovely town is very close to the German-French border and that's what makes it unique. It felt like visiting two countries at the same time. This place is organised, clean and gorgeous. Take a walk and enjoy the view. 

Bibury, england

People call it the most beautiful village in England and I call it a place on my bucket list. This village seems dreamy. I'd like to walk through the streets and experience the special charm of this small town that a lot of travellers swear by. We'll see. 

photo credit: jennofarc Bibury Cottages via photopin (license)

Manarola, Italy

This is the "postcard from Italy" place. Breathtaking views, friendly Italians, local restaurants and ice-cream shops..what more could you need for a perfect day in this adorable village. Don't miss out on this place if you're ever on the Western coast of Italy.

giethoorn, the netherlands

I've never been to the Netherlands, but seeing photos of this lovely village made me look forward to visiting this country. Also called "The Venice of Netherlands" it's a place worth visiting. 


Have you been to any of these places? If you haven't, do you want to go? What's your fave small town? Tell me in the comments below and follow my travels on instagram.

xoxo, Ana 

Write a comment

Comments: 0